Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal recently signed into law 3 life-affirming laws.
The first new law is a fetal pain bill, banning abortions after the baby reaches 20 weeks of development. Louisiana has become the ninth state (AL, AZ, GA, ID, IN, KS, NE, and OK) to pass the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Act. Abortionists who violate its terms face two years in prison. The Governor also approved a bill requiring women to hear their unborn child’s heartbeat and see a picture of an ultrasound 24 hours before having an abortion. Also unanimously approved is a bill that states only physicians can perform abortions in the state. The last two bills become law August 1.